The Names of God; Hermes Edition

I’ve mentioned before that my practice of syncretism isn’t syncretism in the truest, dictionary definition of the word. I blend traditions in the sense that I recognize the same spark of a Deity across cultures. I blend by putting symbols, images, and items on my altar that tie to many versions of the same Deities. I do not blend in the sense of syncretism you will find in say, Gnosticism. It’s almost like genealogy. Building off that, as well as other “Names” resources, like the 99 names of God in Islam, I will be writing lists of names for the particular Deities in my life. Today’s list is my first Divine Spouse, the God that’s generally called Hermes these days.

Disclaimer: These posts will be VERY UPG heavy and a constant work in progress.

Edit: November 26 2015, removed Prometheus, there is a connection but not the same Person 

Hermes

Mercury

Heimdallr

Jesus Christ

Cernunnos 

Herne 

Prometheus 

God of the Dead

God of Tricksters and Theives

Ganesha 

Ram Bearer

Three-Headed

Divine Translator 

Divine Wordsmith

Slayer of Oxen

Thoth

Elijah

Khizr 

The Wild King

The Hunter/Huntsman 

The Green Prophet

The Wild King

2 thoughts on “The Names of God; Hermes Edition

  1. Have you read anything about Edward Butler’s polycentric polytheist theology? It’s based on the idea that there can be a little of every god in every other god, while still being separates, which sounds confusing, but that’s polytheism for ya.

Leave a Reply

